Electrical and Electronics Engineering Institute

University of the Philippines - Diliman

UPEEEAAI celebrates the alumni’s role towards a National EEE Institute at 13th Alumni Homecoming

With the theme, “Dynamic and Vibrant Alumni: A Vibrant Force in Forging Tomorrow’s National EEE Institute,” the UP Electrical and Electronics Engineers Alumni Association, Inc. (UPEEEAAI) celebrated its 13th Alumni Homecoming, held at the High Voltage Laboratory, EEEI Building II, on May 30, 2015.

“Your Alumni is always there to lend a helping hand,” said keynote speaker Mr. Jesus “Chito” P. Francisco, president of Light Rail Manila Corporation (LRMC) and a BS EE class of 1966 graduate. In his message, he affirmed the alumni’s support in making the National Institute of EEE a reality. He also noted that the Institute should focus its efforts in improving the quality of its faculty members and graduates so as “to make EEE continually dynamic and vibrant.” In addition, he addressed the fresh graduates by giving career advices as he shared his experiences as a student and as a professional.

The UP Electrical and Electronics Engineering Institute (EEEI) Director, Dr. John Richard Hizon called for everyone’s support in making EEEI a national institute, during the Director’s Report. He announced that the Institute is “still number one” when it comes to the amount of research funding, its faculty development efforts, its students and faculty awards, the number of peer reviewed publications, to name a few. He noted then that the next big step is to be a national institute-- a shift from training students to training institutions.

“You can only end poverty if you can put science and engineering in the economy. [...] If we want a technology-driven economy, we should make sure that every engineer [from different state universities and colleges] has a ‘tatak UP,’” he added.

Dr. Hizon also called out for the alumni’s expertise in terms of contributing ideas for curriculum development, building a better environment for students, finding the right contacts for research and networking, and setting an examples to our students on how engineers should serve the nation. He also invited the alumni to share ideas for the centennial year celebration of EEEI on 2016.

Mr. Edwin Soliman also delivered the UPEEEAAI President’s Report. He discussed the status of the Association’s Scholarship Program which supports two EEE students since its debut in A.Y. 2014-2015, with Php.240,000.00/ scholar over a three-year period. It was suggested that Alumni Batches (i.e. 1979-1981) “pool resources to support one or two scholars to supplement the funds obtained from regular fundraising.”

Mr. Soliman also shared that the Association become part of the newly-established EE Advisory Board, a recommending body composed of faculty members, industry partners, and alumni. This is in relation to the Institute’s initiative to be accredited by the Philippine Technological Council-Accreditation and Certification Board for Engineering and Technology - Engineering Accreditation Commission (PTC-ACBET-EAC). Other concerns discussed are the Association’s support to EEE student organizations and facility contributions to the Institute (i.e. handrails for the new EEEI Building; and personal computer, Printer, and electric eans for the EEEI Building I Student Study Lounge-Quiet Zone).

UPEEEAAI board member Mr. Roger Chua also took part in celebration by presenting the election mechanics of the Association.

The 13th Alumni Homecoming also served as an opportunity to invite alumni’s participation in the upcoming activities like the UPEEEAAI Fun Run on July 12, 2015, the 2015 UP Alumni Engineers Grand Alumni Homecoming on November 7, 2015, to be held at the Ang Bahay ng Alumni, UP Diliman, and the UP Engineering Radio Guild (UP ERG) Grand Alumni Homecoming in December 2015.

Dr. Joel Joseph Marciano, Jr. closed the program before attendees proceeded to the after-party.

The event also showcased local talents like Prof. Mike Escoto’s band, Red66, junior faculty members Crisron Lucas’ and Andrew Aragon’s band, From Dust We Came; and the UP Circuit’s band, The Bedspacers.

Masters of ceremony were Mr. Nyle Cauli and Ms. Mariel Belga of the EEE Representatives.