Electrical and Electronics Engineering Institute

University of the Philippines - Diliman

UP EEEI faculty wins 2nd Gawad Pangulo for Progressive Teaching and Learning

Dr. Luis Sison of the UP Electrical and Electronics Engineering Institute (UP EEEI) bested three other UP faculty members during the final round of the 2nd Gawad Pangulo: A Competition for Progressive Teaching and Learning, held at the NISMED Auditorium, on 18 December 2015.

“Is the venture a good investment?” said Dr. Sison during his winning presentation on technopreneurship. Dr. Sison, who teaches a technopreneurship class, shared that the question served as a motivation for students in coming up with good startups, and guide for established technopreneurs in evaluating students’ outputs. His class was said to have launched “startups while fulfilling its aim of market validation for student ventures through parallel product and customer development.”

Other finalists are Alleli Ester Domingo of UPLB Institute of Mathematical Sciences and Physics; Reginald Neil Recario of UPLB Institute of Computer Science; and Maria Gonaco of UPD Marine Science Institute.

The first Gawad Pangulo recipient, which was awarded on 13 February 2015, was Dr. Iris Thiele Isip-Tan of the Medical Informatics Unit of the UP Manila.

Gawad Pangulo is an initiative of the Office of the President, with the Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs (OVPAA) as implementing and coordinating body. Finalists are judged according to the “excellence and progressive quality of their teaching philosophy, course syllabus content, course materials, and course activities.”