Electrical and Electronics Engineering Institute

University of the Philippines - Diliman

UP EEEI faculty and staff recognized at 2015 COE Awards

The UP Electrical and Electronics Engineering Institute (UP EEEI) was well-represented in this year’s College of Engineering (COE) Awards, with two winners coming from the Institute.

Dr. Joel Joseph Marciano, Jr. was recognized as the 2015 Most Outstanding Engineering Professor. While Ms. Amelia “Mimi” Yanzon, our administrative officer, was hailed as this year’s Haligi ng Engineering.

The 2015 Gabi ng Parangal for Admin and REPS, which served as the culminating night of the College’s 105th foundation day celebration, was held on 10 June 2015 at the High Voltage Laboratory, EEEI Building II. The COE faculty awardees was then announced during the faculty meeting and the Undergraduate Poster Competition Final Judging and Awarding, on 11 June 2015.

The COE Awards is an annual week-long celebration which aims to give recognition to outstanding employees and students of the College. The awarding tradition is also in commemoration of the foundation day of the College, which is on 13 June 1910. Other awards include the Most Outstanding Engineering Instructor, the Limcaoco Instructor Award for Teaching Excellence, the Dominador Ilio Award for Most Outstanding All-Around Engineering Student, the Garrick Yao Memorial Award for Service, the Most Outstanding Engineering Researcher, UP Alumni Engineers (UPAE) Lifetime Achievement Award, and UPAE Presidential Award for Leadership.

The awarding ceremony for the COE awardees will be at the COE’s Recognition Rites, to be done this year at the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC), on 29 June 2015.